The demolition team moves in

After a lot of wasted graph paper I decided to go for a simple design for the garden.    I set aside the central section of the garden 13m long for the vegetables, the bottom of the garden will have to wait.    I absolutely love the pictures of Nigel Slater’s garden in Tender Volume I so decided on rectangular raised beds set out in a very simple style.

Click here to see the design I had in mind

The very talented woman who does the blog My Tiny Plot draws beautifully artistic drawings of her designs, I can’t even work out how to do a thumbnail of mine on this page!

My idea is that once the rather formal structure is in place I’ll soften it with lots of herbs and flowers that spill over onto the paths and break up the lines a bit so it feels more gentle and less regimented.

After a week the concrete had been broken up, a new path laid and raised beds made out of old scaffolding board.   Each bed is about 2.5m long x 1.2m wide.

About thegreedygardener

The Greedy Gardener is a seasonal food diary of a fruit and vegetable garden in Kent, the garden of England. I can't be self-sufficient but I'm trying to see how much of the food I eat can be measured in food metres rather than food miles.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

