Stuffed Courgette flowers

I’ve grown courgettes before but never tried eating the flowers.  I’d always thought it looked like a bit of a faff, but with the children away on holiday with their father, and a a less packed work schedule than usual I decided to give it a go.   I didn’t weigh any of the ingredients so the quantities are a bit of a guess.

Stuffed Courgette Flowers – for 1

Courgette flowers – 3 or 4 – check carefully they often have little bugs crawling on them
75g Ricotta cheese – depending on the size of your flowers
1 T(ablespoon) grated parmesan cheese
Fresh Mint – about 10 leaves – I use Tashkent or Moroccan mint for the best flavour
Fresh Basil – similar sort of quantity
Flat leaf Parsley – bit less than the above

I reckon you could use any other soft herbs you fancy like oregano or even chives, but that’s what I fancied.

Batter:

75g Plain Flour
1 T Cornflour
150ml water

Mix the plain flour and cornflour together and add cold, preferably iced water gradually to make a tempura style batter.    The batter should be thick enough to coat but not too thick – about the consistency of cream.

Chop the herbs and mix with the ricotta and parmesan.   Season to taste.    Carefully stuff the flowers using a teaspoon to get the mixture into the flower and twisting the end of the petals together to seal.

Dip the flowers into the batter one at a time.

You’ve got to deep fry these, but I didn’t want to go overboard with the quantity of oil I used so I used my smallest saucepan and filled it about 3cm deep with rapeseed oil, you could use peanut oil or sunflower oil, basically anything light and not too strongly flavoured.

Put the flowers in the hot oil, again one at a time (or more if you’re using a wok or larger pan).  Cook until light golden, it only took a really short time.  I turned them once so they cooked on both sides.

It was actually far less faff than I thought, and they were delicious.

About thegreedygardener

The Greedy Gardener is a seasonal food diary of a fruit and vegetable garden in Kent, the garden of England. I can't be self-sufficient but I'm trying to see how much of the food I eat can be measured in food metres rather than food miles.
This entry was posted in basil, courgette flowers, herbs, mint, parsley, seasonal food, summer recipes, vegetarian recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

