Banana, Apple, Almond and Polenta cake

The cake I made so the Christmas cake actually made it to Christmas unmolested.

So this is the cake I made to stop the kids from eating the Christmas cake before it even cooled enough to come out of the tin.    They wanted banana bread and I wanted to make an almond and polenta cake so in the end I decided to combine both of them together and it actually turned out far better than I expected.   It got eaten so quickly that I barely managed to take a photo – this was taken when it was barely cool but already 75% eaten.

It’s another absurdly easy to make cake.  It was made on a Sunday after all the shops were shut with the remnants found in various packets and in the fruit bowl.  As well as brown bananas we quite often end up with wrinkly apples at the bottom of the fruit bowl that nobody wants to eat.   I often use them in baking (apple and walnut cake made with olive oil or walnut oil is nice) or grate onto muesli.   Like the Christmas cake, unfortunately nothing in this cake came from the garden, but I did eat the last slice of it in the garden the following morning so maybe that counts.

Banana, apple, almond and polenta cake

110g butter
100g ground almonds
100g polenta
150g soft brown sugar
2 bananas
1 apple
Zest of 1 lemon
Zest of 1 orange
Juice of 1/2 lemon
2 eggs

Put the soft brown sugar and butter in a large saucepan.  Melt the butter and stir to incorporate the sugar.   Turn off the heat.  Add the polenta, ground almonds, zest of lemon and orange.  Mash the bananas and add.   Grate the apple and add (I didn’t bother to peel off the skin but did take out the core).  Add the lemon juice.   Beat the eggs together and add.

I actually added a few tablespoons of self-raising flour at the end because the mixture was a bit too runny and I only had 90g of polenta in the cupboard.   So I suppose it might be an idea to add half a teaspoon of baking powder, but this isn’t the sort of cake that’s going to rise much either way – its dense, moist and a bit slab like.

Grease and line a large loaf tin.  Pour in the mixture.

I actually can’t quite remember how long or what heat I baked it at, but I think it was 170C in a fan oven for 45 minutes until a skewer came out clean.   I’d advise you keep an eye on it just in case that’s wrong.

It doesn’t look that glamorous but no one complained.   If you were being fancy you could do some sort of butter icing or lemon or orange drizzle type of icing on the top.

About thegreedygardener

The Greedy Gardener is a seasonal food diary of a fruit and vegetable garden in Kent, the garden of England. I can't be self-sufficient but I'm trying to see how much of the food I eat can be measured in food metres rather than food miles.
This entry was posted in Baking, winter recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Banana, Apple, Almond and Polenta cake

  1. es133 says:

    Beautiful recipe!

Leave a Reply

