First harvest of 2012

As soon as I saw the first signs of purple on my Purple Sprouting Broccoli earlier in the week I knew that I wouldn’t be able to resist harvesting it for long.  I should probably call myself The Impatient Gardener.

I spent three hours weeding in the garden today and after I’d trundled the wheelie bin (which was full of the sort of weeds you can’t compost unless you want to spread weeds all over your garden) down the alley ready for collection tomorrow, I decided that I deserved a reward for all my hard work.

So I made myself tea in a lovely new mug that my son had given me for my birthday, and went harvesting.    I do sometimes do fancy things with PSB but as it was the first lot I’ve tasted in nearly a year I wanted to taste it properly, so I did something too simple to be a recipe, but delicious nevertheless.

Steamed Purple Sprouting Broccoli with Lemony Anchovy Butter

Steam purple sprouting broccoli lightly in a steamer until just tender.   Overcooking is sacrilege, so its vital to keep an eye on it and not wander off to do something else while its steaming.   I think I steamed mine for 2-3 minutes maximum.

While it’s steaming take a couple of anchovy fillets from a tin or jar and chop finely.   Melt a generous knob of butter in a small saucepan and add the anchovy.  Grate in the zest of about a quarter to half a lemon.  Heat on a medium-low heat mashing a bit with the back of a spoon or fork so that it disintegrates into the butter.   This shouldn’t take more than a minute so you can do it while the PSB is steaming.   Turn off the heat and add a squeeze of lemon to the buttery sauce.

Take the purple sprouting off the heat and put on a plate.   Pour over the lemony anchovy butter.   Eat with fingers and mop up the juices at the bottom with a chunk of crusty bread.

Beyond simple but utterly delicious

About thegreedygardener

The Greedy Gardener is a seasonal food diary of a fruit and vegetable garden in Kent, the garden of England. I can't be self-sufficient but I'm trying to see how much of the food I eat can be measured in food metres rather than food miles.
This entry was posted in purple sprouting broccoli, winter recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to First harvest of 2012

  1. Oh so delicious looking and sounding…

Leave a Reply

