Brussel Sprout soup

I was possibly over enthusiastic when I planted out 12 brussel sprout plants last year.   I love sprouts, but each stalk has a surprisingly large number of sprouts on it, so I’ve still got a lot left.  I have two default ways of cooking sprouts – one is that old chestnut: pancetta, sprouts and chestnuts, the other is Brussel Sprouts in a cheesy sauce.   Both delicious, but as I’ve still got a bit of a glut I thought I’d see if I could come up with any alternatives.

Today for lunch I did Brussel Sprout Soup.  It might sound a bit weird but it was surprisingly good.  The idea for the soup really came from wandering around the garden and pulling up whatever I could find – a slightly dishevelled leek and some potatoes which are stored in my shed.  I used a chicken stock I’d made after jointing an organic chicken for a tray bake had left me with a carcass and plenty of bones that just couldn’t be wasted.

Brussel Sprout Soup

750ml chicken stock
1/2 – 1 leek shredded
2-3 waxy potatoes
200g brussel sprouts – finely shredded
butter
olive oil
salt & pepper

Melt a knob of butter with about a tablespoon of olive oil in a heavy saucepan.  Sweat the leeks in the butter and oil.    Peel and chop the potatoes into 2cm cubes.   Add to the leeks and then add chicken stock.    After about 8-10 minutes when the potatoes are soft crush them with the back of a fork so that they mainly crumble/dissolve in the soup but leave some little chunks for texture.   While the potatoes are cooking peel the outer leaves off the brussel sprouts – I used the big old battered about ones that I couldn’t have used in anything else.  Shred them really finely and then add to the pan.  Simmer for about 5 minutes.

Of course if you don’t have brussel sprouts sitting around attracting slugs in your garden this soup could be made with kale or cabbage.    A grating of parmesan on the top would be nice too.

Battered and a bit sluggy, but still tasty...

 

About thegreedygardener

The Greedy Gardener is a seasonal food diary of a fruit and vegetable garden in Kent, the garden of England. I can't be self-sufficient but I'm trying to see how much of the food I eat can be measured in food metres rather than food miles.
This entry was posted in brussel sprouts, leeks, potatoes, winter recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Brussel Sprout soup

  1. Lucy says:

    Hi, I really love your blog! I too am a greedy gardener, and just started gardening last year, so it’s been great reading about your plot and your recipes.

  2. The soup looks delicious, I have some brussel sprout seeds which I’m going to try growing this year, if they succeed I’ll have to try your soup – Laura (http://thelittlebalcony.blogspot.com/)

Leave a Reply

